Strategic Plan
2014-15 through 2018-19


Did you know?
Eligibility and BenefitsProcess and FormsNomination Packet
Historic ContextsReview CommitteeDatabase

Established by Congress in 1966, the National Register of Historic Places is the nation's official list of significant historic properties.

Each state has a historic preservation office, which is responsible for nominating buildings, sites, districts, etc. to the Register.

In Louisiana the Division of Historic Preservation (DHP - part of the Office of Cultural Development, Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism) administers this program.

National Register News:

All 9 of the nominations heard at our August 13th National Register Review Committee were approved. They are all heading up to the National Park Service for review. 
Check out a new series of National Register videos put together by the National Trust for Historic Preservation and starring our very own Federal reviewer, James Gabbert here.
April National Register Nominations  
  • Harrisonburg Methodist Church, Catahoula Parish
  • Houma Elementary School, Terrebbone Parish
  • Huey P. Long Memorial Hospital, Rapides Parish
  • Adams House Delisting, East Baton Rouge Parish
  • Conerly House Delisting, Rapides Parish
  • Alexis LaTour House Delisting, Evangeline Parish
  • Booker T. Washington High School, Caddo Parish
  • The Architecture of A. Hays Town in Louisiana, 1939-1991
  • Union Federal Savings and Loan Association, East Baton Rouge Parish
  • New Orleans Federal Savings and Loan, Orleans Parish
  • John S. Dawson High School, West Feliciana Parish



For more information contact
Historic Preservation's National Register Coordinator,
Jessica G. Richardson.
Mailing AddressP.O. Box 44247
Baton Rouge LA 70804
Phone:(225) 219-4595
Fax:(225) 342-8173